EN · FR · DE

Press release: AfricAvenir 24 March 2013: La Pirogue wins International Press Award

On Friday 22, March, after winning Munich, Carthage, Festival de Angouleme, and taking the Bronze Stallion at FESPACO 2013, Senegalese film La Pirogue won the International Press Award, at the 3rd edition of the online film festival MyFrenchFilmFestival.com.



The festival took place between 17. January and 17. February 2013. 750.000 viewers were registered. The festival marketed via the francophone world, uniFrance.Films, AlloCine, and other platforms. A total of ten long feature film and ten short films were in competion.

The winners are selected by 10 journalists. In 2013 they were:

Corless Kleron (Sight & Sound – UK); Cristina Piccino (Il Manifesto, Italy), Dennis Lim (Moving Image, USA), Diego Batlle (La Nacion, Argentina), Julie Rigg (freelance, Australia), Laisa Yusipova (Izvestia, Russia), Miriam Hollstein (Die Welt, Germany), Mohamad Kadry (Khaleej Time, Emirats), Salvador Liopart Garcia (La Vanguardia, Spain), and Shen Yi (Oriental Morning, China).

Find more here: http://www.myfrenchfilmfestival.com/en/

After winning the Bronze Stallion at the Pan-African Film & TV Festival of Ouagadougou (FESPACO) early March, this news comes along with the announcement, that Air France bought the film and will screen La Pirogue on all it's long distance flights for a period of six month. Non-commercial rights were bought by Institut Francais.

AfricAvenir sends out congratulations to Moussa Toure and his team.

If you are in Windhoek on March 30, take the opportunity and watch the wonderful film La Pirogue.

In Berlin, the film will be screened by AfricAvenir on Sunday 2nd June 2013 at 5 p.m. at Hackesche Höfe Kino.

AfricAvenir presents the premiere in Namibia, on Saturday, 30 March, at 7p.m  at Goethe-Centre.


Link: http://www.africavenir.org/news-archive/newsdetails/datum/2013/02/13/africavenir-presents-the-namibian-premiere-la-pirogue.html 




back to top