EN · FR · DE

Anouncement: Namibian Theatre and Film Awards 2014: Submissions to be made until 12 September 2014

The Filmmakers Association of Namibia (FAN), in co-operation with the Namibia Film Commission (NFC)  and the National Theatre of Namibia (NTN) calls out for Namibian filmmakers to submit their work to the Namibian Theatre and Film Awards 2014 - the third edition after 2010 and 2012,  in which “The 3 1/2 Lives of Philip Wetu” and “Try” won the award for Best Film respectively. 

The Namibian Theatre and Film Awards take place bi-annually and will be held during a Gala evening at the NTN on October 25th -  celebrating the best of Namibian filmmaking and - a first this year - Music Video directing. 
The categories are: Best Film, Best Short Film, Best Documentary, Best Music Video, Best Actor and Actress, Best Director, Best Screenwriter, Best Editor, Best Composer, Best Sound Designer, Best Production Designer, and Audience Choice.

Anybody that shot a short film, feature film, documentary of any length or music video can submit their work  together with a completed entry form and other requirements until Friday, September 12th,  at the offices of the NFC or the NTN Box Office.

The entry forms can be found online on the official website of the Filmmakers Association of Namibia www.filmmakers-association-namibia.com and the FAN Facebook site www.facebook.com/filmmakersassociationofnamibia and or at the NFC office as well as the NTN Box Office - on the form filmmakers will find all requirements necessary to compete in this year’s coveted awards.

All eligible films will be screened as part of the Namibia Film Week end of September. The audience at these screenings will determine the Winner of the Audience Choice Award. This honor went to the films “CamelThorns” in 2010 and “100 Bucks” in 2012 respectively.

For media inquiries please contact the Filmmakers Association of Namibia (Filmmakers Association of Namibia, filmmakersnamibia@gmail.com), and ask for Tim Huebschle (Organizing Committee) or Hans-Christian Mahnke (FAN board member responsible for PR/Marketing.

back to top